Mission:

To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.



Scott A. Rivkees, M.D. State Surgeon General and Secretary

Required documentation to obtain a **Prior (Perk)** site evaluation:

- **Application** must be complete, with all necessary information.
- <u>Legal description</u> of the property. If the property is in a subdivision please provide lot and block numbers, and date of subdivision.
- <u>Preliminary Site Plan Drawn to Scale.</u> On graph paper, or a survey of property with dimensions with placement of structure, septic system, water source (well/water hookup), water lines, driveway, any other buildings, swimming pools, easements, drainage features, slopes, or bodies of waters on property. Sign and date the form when completed and be sure to show the scale (1" = 20', etc.).
- <u>Preliminary Floor Plan Drawn to Scale</u> and showing layout of home with rooms labeled and outside dimensions of structure shown. Sign and date.
- <u>Density letter</u> from the Gulf County Building Department (GCBD) stating that the property in question is compliant with the Gulf County Comprehensive Plan. For more information, contact the GCBD at 850-227-9562.
- <u>Flags</u> (provided by the Gulf County Health Department)
- <u>Letter of Authorization</u>. When an individual, other than the owner of the property, is acting as the agent when a site evaluation (Prior) is applied for, a letter of authorization from the owner of the property giving his/her permission for the second party to act as agent must accompany the application. Without this authorization from the owner of the property, the Environmental Health inspector is not allowed to enter the property.

The cost for a Prior is \$290.00, payable to the Department of Health in Gulf County when application is submitted. Fees are subject to change.

Applications/site evaluations are valid for one (1) year from the date of the original application. The longer the time lapse from site evaluation to a request for a construction permit, the more likely changes will have occurred that may invalidate the assessment. The evaluation may be affected by: erosion, man-made changes in the lot, changes in the water table, changes in the shoreline or drainage, installation of wells on surrounding property, changes in the law (Chapter 381 & 386, Florida Statutes) or rules (Chapter 64-E, Florida Administrative Code), zoning laws and local laws or rules.

Prior to the expiration of initial application (one year), this office may issue a construction permit upon receipt of the remaining fee of \$335.00 (\$75.00 for second site evaluation fee and \$260.00 construction permit fee), site plan checklist, site plan drawn to scale, and floor plan drawn to scale. Fees are subject to change. Please call this office at (850) 705-6116 if you have any questions or concerns regarding this information.

